Hired!

The State Capitol Building

Hello friends,

I start my new job Tuesday! I’m excited to announce that I’ll be lobbying in Salem through the 2011 legislative session.

It’s a crazy story how the pieces fell together.

The very last day of my previous job, I had set up an informational interview at a Portland based PR/PA and lobbying firm. After meeting with a lovely gal there, she informed me that their lobbying team was hiring. They decided to give me a job interview on the spot. A week later, they chose someone else for the position. But in January, I got an email from one of the gals informing me that another firm was hiring and she encouraged me to apply.

I applied. And then did some research and immediately realized that this firm was NOT the place for me. I knew that they would be lobbying for causes and clients that I do not agree with. But for some inexplicable reason, when they called and asked for an interview, I agreed. I figured it would be good practice.

The women I met with were extremely kind. We chatted about all sorts of things, but in my heart, I knew that this was not the place for me. When they called me and asked me to come down and meet the team, I had to confess that it would be a conflict of interest for me to work at their firm. I felt horrible for wasting their time.

My interviewer didn’t miss a beat. She quickly referred me to another organization who she suggested might be a better fit. I met with them on Monday and could tell immediately I would enjoy working there.  And today they called and offered me the job.

It just goes to show that you never know where an opportunity might lead. And networking – with everyone – is always beneficial. I’m thankful and excited to start the next chapter!

If only it weren’t in Salem, Oregon…  😛

2 thoughts on “Hired!

  1. Interviewers who actually directed you to another organization? What a great field of work. I could not imagine getting that kind of assistance after telling someone I didn’t want to work at their organization. They must have been really impressed by you. Like you, I had originally thought I’d blog post-graduation about the challenges and successes of starting a career, but there has been so little to share. Luckily I had some part-time work the past 4 months, but my last day is tomorrow and I have been applying to other companies for several weeks now. I had been working in Salem and commuting between Portland and Eugene for the past two months. The drive is a bit annoying, but on the bright side you’ve got an exciting new job. Hope you like it.

  2. Hi Kyle,
    I interned (unpaid) and waitressed for a year after graduating. So believe me I understand how frustrating the process can be. The job that I currently have is only through the legislative session – so come July, I will again be looking for work. Best of luck on the job search! Keep your nose to the grindstone and network – something will present itself eventually!! Thanks for your interest in my blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

