A little work-life balance

Tricky tricky...

Now that I’ve started my new job in Salem and am subsequently spending around 2.5 hours a day driving there and back, I am trying to remember the importance of work-life balance.

This past summer, I worked 70 days straight. I do not recommend doing that. I was miserable. I know people who have worked more, and harder than myself, but I also know that I do not find happiness in working all the time. I find happiness in friends, adventures, learning, family, exercising, and yes, some work. But how does one balance all of the above?

Well, that’s what I am trying to figure out! But I’ll tell you what I’ve learned so far.

Exercise: I’m still attempting to figuring out a schedule for this one. I think that if I can make it to yoga and run twice during the week, and then run once on the weekend, I’ll be doing okay. This is hard to do though. Because I get back in to Portland after the sun has set, I cannot run in the evenings. I’ve been trying to run in Salem before I drive home. I will see how that continues to pan out.

Friends: I am only running two evenings a week, which leaves three evenings for my wonderful friends! However, with my new schedule I’ll be missing most happy hours. 😦

Family: Still working this out. I haven’t had dinner with them since I started my job. (It’s only been a week).

Please note the bulldog!

Goals: Okay. So here is a weird trick I have. I save my money better when I have a specific goal or prize in mind – even if I don’t end up following through! Currently I’m telling myself I’m saving for a trip to Rio de Janeiro or a mini cooper.

Which would you spend your hard earned cash on?

And if you have any advice on how you balance your busy life, please fill me in! I’m new! 🙂

2 thoughts on “A little work-life balance

  1. You will totally get the hang of things after a few weeks of working! I find that the easiest way for me to juggle all the activities is by planning my week’s schedule ahead of time. It doesn’t always stay the same, but at least I make a noble attempt 🙂 best of luck! My vote is on the car – but only if comes with the bulldog.

Leave a Reply

