Summer Vacation

Hello there!

I’ve have been lobbying in Salem for the 2011 legislative session. However, when I accepted this job, I was only signed on for 2 weeks past the end of session. Initially, they planned on telling me two weeks before the end of session – or one month before I was to end – if they were going to ‘sign’ me on or not. But that did not happen.

Things have been so crazy down here that my boss never had an opportunity to talk to her boss! This has been very nerve wracking for me. Should I be job hunting? Should I be saving my money? Well, the short answer is yes. It is always good to be prepared for the worst. I also wanted to plan a trip this summer to visit my family back east, but without knowing if I needed to ask for days off, if I would be unemployed, or if I would have a new job it has been very difficult to plan anything!

But because I have an amazing boss, she said I could take the week of the 4th off.

Nothing is official yet, but they are starting to plan what projects I should work on over the summer. I won’t count on having a job until paper work is signed – but things are looking good!

Anyway, back to my vacation. I am planning on visiting Washington DC July 1st through July 10th. I will be spending the 4th in Hot Springs, VA at The Homestead. A friend of mine is planning on spending the weekend with me. She is in DC for a job interview and I’m excited to get to spend some QT with her.

Here are a few pictures from visits past:

Madeline and me in front of the White House
With the Washington Nationals macot
The Homestead

Thanks for reading!

-a

4 thoughts on “Summer Vacation

  1. Limbo Land between intern and employee is so hard – I feel for you! Keep working your butt off at your job, building your personal brand, and an open mind! Everything will fall into place soon, I promise.

    Have a great time in DC!

    Sarah

    1. Thanks, Sarah! I absolutely hate limbo land. Luckily, my contract was just extended through March! Yay! Though I’m not an intern, I’m not a staff member either. I’m more of a contract employee – I get paid by the hour.

      Thanks for the comment on my blog 🙂

  2. Arielle! Who is getting you the hook up at the homestead? That place looks amazing! Jumping off your next blog, you will do great on the GRE you are super smart and a very hard worker. Congrats on the “job” (even if it’s just until March) that’s still exciting!! Hope you are doing well, love reading your blog 🙂 Miss you.

    1. I miss you! I’d love to see some pictures of where you’re living/teaching/partying til the AM. haha 🙂

      I’m hoping Connor will know where he’ll be for the next 4 years by March. If that happens, the timing of this job will be perfect. But who knows?! I still haven’t registered for the GRE but I have to do it soon! As soon as I register, it’ll mean it’s real so I’m procrastinating…

Leave a Reply

