Occupy rant

Hi all,

I’m getting political today. Everyone who knows me, knows I am opinionated – and sometimes a little too much so. And today you’re going to hear some of those opinions.

The #occupywallstreet movement has a lot of people talking. Most seem aggrieved that their commutes are slower, smelly hippies are taking over parks, and interrupting daily life.

While so many of my friends are upset about the economy, distraught about how much student loans they have and frustrated about how hard it is to be successful today, no one seems to want to latch on to an “extremist” movement. They don’t consider themselves hippies, loonies or protesters. They see problems but don’t consider themselves political. They don’t know enough to comment. They don’t care.

This reminds of a quote, “The death of democracy is not likely to be an assassination from ambush. It will be a slow extinction from apathy, indifference, and undernourishment.” -Robert M. Hutchins. Think about it.

I don’t like to be perceived as extremist, ill-informed, delusional or any other word that people use to describe the protesters. However, at least I care.

I care about the world, my country, my state, my friends, and my family. I want the best for all of them. I want to believe in the American Dream. That if you work hard, you can be successful. I believe in personal responsibility – but I worry that even responsible people can no longer work hard and earn the lives they want.

I did everything by the books. I did well in school, wrote an honors thesis, did internships, participated in school clubs, and yet I worked for free for an entire year after graduating. I couldn’t get a job to save my life. I am fortunate because my family was able to support me while I waitressed, worked at retail stores and continued to intern (for free) to build my resume.

What if I had loans? What if my parents didn’t have the means to support me? What if I didn’t have parents? People who have different circumstances than I would never have been able to do what I did and would have had to serve fulltime or work retail. Is that what we want to reward people with who have gone to college, played by the rules and graduated?

Is that the country you want to live in? Where the best job people can get is at Starbucks? Nothing is wrong with working in retail or the service industry but in order to stay competitive on a global scale we need to motivate people to get an education and work in developing fields. I got a Bachelor’s of Science and found myself back at my high school job.

I don’t want that for myself. I don’t want that for my younger siblings. I don’t want that for my friends. I don’t want that for my country.

I’m mad.

Because I care.

I see problems with the #occupy movement. I don’t think that camping in parks, drinking, doing drugs and not showering is contributing to our society. However, they have succeeded. People are listening. People are noticing. People are talking.

I don’t pretend do have all of the solutions. Maybe when I get my masters (or one day Ph.D?) I will. But until then I can promise you a few things.

1. I will do my part. This means staying informed, voting and perhaps moving my money away for corporate institutions who used predatory loans to get people into houses they couldn’t afford and now are kicking them out. (Yes B of A, I’m looking at you. No, I’m no longer your customer).

2. I will continue working hard. Hopefully graduate school is next.

3. I won’t give up.

I believe in democracy. I believe in the American Dream. I believe that business and people alike should be able to play by the rules and be successful. Sometimes rules need to be changed – sometimes they just need to be followed. I don’t believe in the exploitation of the masses for the benefit of the few.

Aren’t we all equal? Don’t we all deserve quality education? And the pursuit of the American Dream?

Yes, this is rant. It’s not grammatically correct nor a well organized essay. But please, don’t dismiss the occupiers. They are fighting (some incoherently) for a country they believe in. I bet we’d all agree with them more than we’d disagree if we actually listed to them. Don’t dismiss the movement. Don’t complain about your commute (be thankful you have a damn job).

Just care. About your future and our country’s.

(And be thankful when the news covers the #occupy movement more than the Kardashian-Humphries divorce or LiLo jail sentence).

4 thoughts on “Occupy rant

  1. Love this post! Go Arielle! I think the fundamentals of the #occupy movement are great, and I definitely agree. Working on moving my money out of Chase as well.

    I went the protest this last Saturday at Jamison Square park and was highly discouraged by what a lot of the protesters were saying. There really needs to be more regular people taking part in the protests and being more peaceful about it too. Glad to see that there are already some changes that have occurred too like Bank of America reversing fees.

    1. I totally agree with the premise of the movement but I am also discouraged by the crazies taking it over. Demanding change is totally appropriate right now. But when people protest just to protest and don’t really care what they are protesting it distorts the perception of the movement. I just wanted to vocalize support (as a hopefully somewhat ‘normal’ person) for the movement and encourage others to stay informed and hopefully demand change. Thanks for commenting, Sam!

  2. Well said, Arielle. Out of college until I was about 24 I supported myself very comfortably; and didn’t grasp the widespread severity of the situation when the company I worked for started furloughing hundreds of employees.

    Half the people I know have collected unemployment at some point in the past 5 years. Suddenly those of us who were college educated and hard working could either work overtime at a low-paying job for which we were over qualified, or part time with no benefits somewhere else…if we were lucky. Some people didn’t have either of those options. I believe if the greedy CEOs and owners of larger corporations had re-invested in their own companies and employees rather than padding their personal assets, things would be much better today. I hope the Occupy movement gains more credibility and causes change. Otherwise I only see things getting worse.

Leave a Reply

