Martin Luther King Jr.

Hi friends,

Being that this blog is about my perspective on life, I wanted to give you my opinion on Martin Luther King Jr. Day.

I wish, rather than having a day off from school, children of all ages would spend a day discussing King Jr., his life, his views and his tragic death. In first grade it could be the very simple message of equality but as children advanced so would the material.

I can only remember talking about Martin Luther King Jr. specifically one time in high school [thank you Mr. Dunn]. However, I think his messages are as relevant today as they were 45 years ago and deserve more than one lesson plan in 12 years of education.

Below I’ve included a brief video of King Jr.’s last speech before he was assassinated. While the portion about ‘the mountaintop’ is very prophetic and the most well known, I like what he’s saying at the beginning of this video. Watch it and let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

